Lejasciems cultural heritage and tradition center

In the early 1970s, the idea of Aija Pavāre, the principal of the secondary school, began to be realized in Lejasciems, and on May 18, 1972, a local history museum was opened in the school premises. In 1978, the premises of the school museum were adapted in the building built in 1874 - in the former linen speaker.

In 1997, the materials of the school museum were taken over by the Lejaciems Parish Council. The revival of the museum begins. On December 1, 1997, the parish museum was opened to visitors.

Visitors can get acquainted with Lejasciems ancient tools, household items, Lejasciems residents.
The specifics of the museum's work changed for Lejasciems, which became a popular tourist destination, and in December 2002 the museum was reorganized into a center of cultural heritage and traditions.
The center organizes various art craft exhibitions and trainings.

Information: http://lejasciems.lv/?menu=113&sub=163
List of information sources here .